Reviews

Add A Review
Rated 5/5 based on 47 customer reviews
"Pro Active is a wonderful experience the minute you walk in their door. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. Dr. Dan Gridley in incredible. He has helped me with problems with my ankles. He's a good listener and always comes up with a solution to help in my healing process. I would highly recommend Pro Active PT and ask for Dr. Dan!!!"
Jan 08, 2022
"This was the third time that I’ve turned to ProActive for help, and I highly recommend this group of physical therapists. The entire staff are professional yet very friendly, and there is just a nice, relaxed atmosphere to the place. I especially like it that you work with the same therapist each session, and they give you their undivided attention. I worked with Dr. Dave Brennan, who was very knowledgeable, attentive, and organized, plus he didn’t mind answering my many questions. He knew just what to do to rectify my shoulder problem, and the exercises worked—my shoulder is nearly pain free and back to normal. I am very grateful that ProActive has a branch in North Syracuse close to me!"
Jan 07, 2022
"If you are looking for a very friendly and knowledgeable staff, well ProActive Physical Therapy is the place to go! Everyone is very friendly and they treat you with respect as well. Steph is awesome as well as everyone else , although I needed to go to physical therapy I looked forward to going twice a week, I know it sounds crazy, but I was feeling better after one visit, and at the end of my time, which was about 4 weeks I was feeling great!! If in the future I find myself needing to go back, it will be with them at ProActive Physical Therapy in the North Syracuse office. Thank you Arlene"
Dec 21, 2021
"I have been going here for almost 3 1/2 years on nd off. Everyone here is great and they have helped me walk again. I was losing my balance all the time. I fell many times and could not go off high curb. I panic when I had to walk by myself and got so that I was scared to death even with cane. I couldn't be scared to walk on the handicap bumps in the ground. All of the therapists are wonderful and help me to get out of the chair with the exercises and not panic and try to not fall. At Christmas I couldn't trim the tree with out being afraid of losing my balance. Even cleaning the house I was scared of falling. They are very patient with you. I have been getting better over the last few years."
Dec 21, 2021
"My name is Eveline I’am personally thankful for Nate . I had a wonderful experience of therapy his expertise is beyond helping patients in need. I am one of the patients he handled during healing process of my Elbow tendinitis. It hurt so much that couldn't pick up objects without dropping them. His techniques helped me through my therapy "
Dec 17, 2021
"Always good here. Steph is great. The whole team is great."
Dec 17, 2021
"Dave was the best really worked my wrist hard to get it back to normal. Has the patience for the job, very friendly, courteous, most of all professional and friendly. Robin and Kelly were great with my schedule so flexible. Thank to All "
Dec 17, 2021
"Best decision I made, was choosing this facility. After a rough few months after my accident, I finally just feel like myself again. I can’t thank you enough Steph, for guiding me and helping me get back to being mobile again in life. Best of luck and happy holidays! "
Dec 13, 2021
"I've been to ProActive PT for 3 different problems over the past few years. Once for my back, once for my hip and the latest issue is shoulder pain from arthritis. I highly recommend this facility, I've had success each time I had to attend. The staff and therapists are friendly, knowledgeable and obviously know what they're doing because each time my pain issues were resolved. They have excellent hours that should accommodate any one's schedule. This is the only PT place I'd go to(gee I hope I don't have any more issues) and I've recommended it to several people. I started here because a family member told me about it and I'm glad I took her advice."
Dec 13, 2021
"I had a good experience with Steph at the Center. She helped me relieve the tension in my tendon. The atmosphere was fun and laid back. Would recommend!!!"
Dec 13, 2021
"Everyone at proactive was very helpful with my back and pain able to do more and working part time thanks to Dan"
Dec 13, 2021
"Dr Magic Steph and the whole team were badass ! Thanks u very much ! "
Dec 13, 2021
"The best PT I have ever received for my back issue. I love that it is a one on one. Thank you. I will refer friends and family."
Dec 13, 2021
"I have been going to ProActive and seeing Stephanie for 2 months now. I broke my ankle and had 3 surgeries, and she has taught me to walk again. I must admit I’m not sure I ever thought that would happen. She has done it by pushing me, definitely not in a bad way but yet with such compassion, and teaching me to have the confidence that I could do this. I HIGHLY recommend Stephanie to anyone that needs to go to physical therapy. Her knowledge and caring are something that is very hard to find these days and I am so grateful I found her. What a wonderful Office, you won’t be disappointed. "
Dec 10, 2021
"Everyone is great. "
Dec 09, 2021
"Over the years, I have had a number of surgeries that have required physical therapy as a component of each healing process. As such, I have been to many physical therapists in the Oswego, Baldwinsville, Cicero, and Syracuse areas. Nowhere have I received better treatment than that of PROActive Physical Therapy in North Syracuse. Dan Gridley, my assigned therapist, has proven to me to be the most thorough, methodical, and patient physical therapist I have ever had work with me. To anyone needing physical therapy of any kind, I highly recommend PROActive in North Syracuse. It was truly a gift to have been assigned to Dan Gridley; however, this is an amazing staff and an amazing facility. You won't be disappointed in any way. "
Dec 06, 2021
"What a wonderful place to get PT help. The people are helpful and so very kind. They are flexible if you have a scheduling problem. I looked forward to going to each appointment as I got relief from sciatica. Thank you Dr. Dan and Kelly for making a painful situation better with your kindness and concern. "
Nov 20, 2021
" Highly recommend ProActive Physical Therapy in North Syracuse. From the moment I was greeted by Kelley who made sure all paperwork was in order before I met with the therapist you could tell the entire stay was professional, welcoming and caring. Had the pleasure of working with Dan Gridley one of the therapists. He did a consultation asking about physical condition and symptoms and listened intently to my concerns. He did some range of motion measurements and developed an individualized treatment plan. Showed a model of a knee pointing out exactly where the problem was which was very beneficial. Outlined our goals and expected outcome after 6 weeks. Had to go 1X week with the understanding I would do exercises and stretching another 2X a week (which I did religiously). Massaged the area for 5 minutes and got right into the exercises. Added a new exercise each week. Dan released me after 6 weeks with full recovery. Right quadricep strain was back to normal! Dan gave me confidence to work through the pain knowing that I wasn’t doing further damage. Thanks so much!"
Nov 09, 2021
"Drew was awesome. Gave me specific exercises to improve my back symptoms."
Oct 21, 2021
"Very happy with proactive in north Syracuse,Dan did a great job at every appointment .Everyone in that office was very friendly.Definitely recommend pt in this location."
Sep 28, 2021
"Drew Nelson is an outstanding PT. He looks at the whole body and how one walks and moves before tailoring a treatment plan. Results and relief from pain are almost immediate. I now am free of hip and knee pain and will not need surgery. Drew is very professional and pleasant and puts his clients at ease. I have recommended him to several of my friends. Thank you Drew!"
Aug 09, 2021
"I had PT with SUNY upstate student JP along with Nate after I was in a car accident. They truly care about their patients and are a fun and knowledgeable staff! "
Jul 29, 2021
"Outstanding physical therapy experience! I have been to different PT's with various family members and had no desire to go because I didn't think they helped. I was in a car accident and had to see a PT for myself. I googled reviews about physical therapists. I read the reviews and they were excellent so I decided to check them out. From beginning to end, the process exceeded expectations. Office hours are very convenient. Reception was amazing and friendly every time. Dr. Nate took time to review my condition and possible therapy routes with me and made sure I was comfortable with what he was suggesting. They listened to my concerns and dedicated time with me for my individual needs. I didn't feel like I was rushed and everything was clearly explained to my satisfaction. I cannot recommend them highly enough! Also, giant shout out to JP, the intern who spent a lot of time with me. :)"
May 21, 2021
"Working with Nate and Zachary at the North Syracuse location I made steady progress, improving cervical range of motion and reduction of chronic pain resulting from multiple fusions and degenerative disc disease. They were always willing to listen, encourage, and make adjustments to the treatment plan as needed. I was provided with a home exercise plan that I hope will keep me on track now that I have resumed the activities that I enjoy. I highly recommend working with Proactive Physical Therapy for any physical rehabilitation needs. They will take good care of you!"
May 10, 2021
"Dr Drew is very good and also nice and friendly. I had 2 different issues near the same area. He provided me the right stretches I needed to help me stretch the muscles I needed to relieve the pain and pressure I was having. All with in a couple of months both areas have improved at the same time. When I feel my muscle start to tighten I have the right stretches to refer to. Also very friendly staff. "
May 04, 2021
"ProActive was really great to work with!!! They fit me in quickly and were easily accessible between sessions if/when I needed to contact them. Everyone was kind, extremely knowlegable, encouraging and fun to talk to while doing PT exercises on site. I've been to ProActive for 2 different injuries and had a very positive experience with Steph both times! I wouldn't go any place else in the future."
May 01, 2021
"Dr. Drew Nelson is by far, the PT best provider I've partnered with in many years! Dr. Nelson's hands-on approach in assessing the root cause of my injury coupled with a dedicated recovery program was unmatched. I have personally seen Dr. Nelson's one on one attention with his patients before my visits - e.g. his practice within the Manlius YMCA is an ideal setting to offer immediate application of his very effective, customized PT recovery regimen. Until my visits with Dr. Nelson, I have never been to a PT practice which focuses solely on the patient...individually and one on one throughout the appointment. His "director of first impressions" Rebecca is a wonderful team partner as well - truly a reflection of the wonderful care provided at this practice...and a tremendous help with processing all the many variable tasks involving appointments, doctor records and insurance processing. Dr. Nelson's assessment of my injury's needs was spot on and enabled my recovery to be far more timely than I had expected; once he knew where I needed to strengthen areas, I continued his program with great results. Moreover, Dr. Nelson was so convinced of my positive prognosis, there were no unnecessary visit requests! Dr. Nelson was also highly recommended to me from several others within our community - inclusive of athletes and fitness professionals alike. If you're looking for the best in PT care, Dr. Nelson is the one to see; he certainly enabled my recovery back to all of the active things I love the most. He's also a regular presence within the Y always eager to 'check-in' and see how things are progressing both, health-wise and personally. Thank you, Doc and keep up the great care within our community!"
Feb 25, 2021
"The BEST place to go for PT, It is a relaxed atmosphere. Not a lot of people. Everyone is friendly, kind and caring. The physical therapists are very knowledgeable. I have been there 4 or 5 times in the last 6 years. Easy access to get in and out of building. I will not go anywhere else. I am a senior citizen. "
Dec 28, 2020
"Received PT for elbow pain. Thanks to Steph I'm much better ☺️"
Nov 25, 2020
"I will gladly recommend Pro Active to anyone looking for a good physical therapist . All the therapists are v err ry professional & knowledgeable. They also listen & are empathetic to their patients. The administrattivev assistant is very easy to work with & very flexible in making appointments . "
Sep 29, 2020
"I definitely recommend PROActive. === I just completed my PT and am very satisfied. It is about a 45 minute drive for me, but the Waterville office was able to schedule my first appointment within a couple days of my call. The physical therapists near me couldn't schedule me for one month. The staff are very nice and are knowledgeable, or are learning, about the latest techniques. The facility bright and clean, the overall atmosphere congenial. My visits were enjoyable, even though I had to "work". PROActive will be my first call if I need PT again. "
Sep 22, 2020
"I went to Proactive Physical therapy for my knee and started in March. I worked with Nate and he helped me regain strength in my knee and heal it after surgery. Nate was great giving me helpful exercise and things to help me. With out Nate I would not have made as much progress on my knee as I did. I had a great experience here and would recommend to anyone I know!!! "
Sep 03, 2020
"Nate worked with my 16 year old son who suffered a series of ankle sprains over 18 months playing soccer. Nate was our 4th pt and he was the only one who correctly diagnosed the root causes of my son’s injuries and then developed a treatment plan that combined balance work, the strength and flexibility exercises. Nate worked closely with our local strength coach to augment our twice weekly session. More importantly Nate also helped my son deal with the psychological and emotional issues of recurrent injuries. My son has returned to elite soccer competition and is doing quite well. Thank you Nate. "
Dec 11, 2019
"Dr. Drew Nelson was amazing. Having spent a career in the US Army, I have been involved with physical therapy before, but Dr. Drew is on a whole other level. His depth of knowledge, his understanding of patient goals, his ability to motivate, and his desire to reach patient goal's, set him head and shoulder's above any other PT I have ever met. I had a total knee replacement and doubted, at times, my ability to get back to the activity level that I needed. Because of Dr. Drew, 6 months after surgery, I was promoted to the next belt in Teakwondo, my repaired leg can lift almost 80 percent of my good leg and I am awaiting approval from the surgeon to begin running after more than 4 years that pain kept me from my favorite pastime. Best of all my two small boys have a dad who throws ball with them, kicks the ball with them, and explored the woods and the ski slopes with them. Thank you Dr. Drew. "
Sep 24, 2019
"I recently have been to Pro Active for back issues. I saw Nate Loughlin and was really impressed with not only his knowledge but his honest concern with how I felt. I have seen other therapists and this is the place I will always come back too. Thanks guys!!"
Aug 23, 2019
"Nate was absolutely wonderful!! I would highly recommend them as they are knowledgeable, courteous, and very professional. The excerises were provided by email and went over in detail. They were easy enough to remember and only was changed slightly as I was starting to feel better to keep me moving in the correct direction. I feel so much better and am still doing some of the exercises to keep my progress going even after graduating from physical therapy. Thank you!!"
Aug 04, 2019
"Wonderful experience. My therapist, Dr. Drew Nelson, was very professional and knowledgeable. With all his expertise my rotator cuff is on the mend. I also love the convenience of being in the YMCA. "
Jun 18, 2019
"After several months of PT @ a different facility with minimal progress, I was then referred to Dr Nate Loughlin for treatment of carpal tunnel symptoms. I was impressed at my first appointment with different exercises, the interest taken in what I was saying about symptoms and was given many suggestions and just taking the time to explain things was greatly appreciated and I couldn’t wait for my next appointments and most of all I am very satisfied with the progress made between the first appointment and the last and when symptoms become intense I now know different ways to find some relief. Thankyou Dr Nate Loughlin for your patience, expertise and of course the awesome office environment. ProActive is highly recommended."
Nov 06, 2018
"I have been to proactive pt afterseveral injuries that required surgery. The staff there is great and keeps working with you throughout your therapy unlike several other therapists I saw that showed me some exercises and then paid little attention to me. Nate and his staff work with you and have realistic exercises you can work on at home not just at the office. I saw a 100% decrease in pain and a huge improvement in my range of motion. I highly recommend Proactive Physical therapy. "
Nov 06, 2018
"I would recommend PROActive in North Syracuse to anyone who needs physical therapy. Dr. Nate Loughlin is a genial man and easy to get along with. He makes a good case for exercise being beneficial for everyone, not just for those with a problem or making a recovery. He explains things, listens to you, and what I appreciated most, is very encouraging. Dr. Nate also has good staff who likewise give you great individualized care. The time I spent at PROActive was well worth it. I learned many valuable exercises which have really helped me, and I am better off knowing what they taught me there. PROActive’s building is not large, yet it is very conveniently located for anyone living in or near North Syracuse and Cicero."
Jul 19, 2018
"I am so glad to have been sent to PRO Active physical therapy. I had a pain in my shoulder and arm and now I am feeling much better. Do your excersizes at home in between appointments and you will be good as new. Thanks so much!"
Mar 02, 2018
"I was able to get am appointment the day after I called, and did not even need a referral from my doctor. In 2 weeks I was back to normal. I highly recommend PROActive PT!"
Nov 26, 2017
"Highly Recommended! I have been there for several injuries - low back sprain and after knee surgery. Both times I was high satisfied an reached all my goals!"
Jun 29, 2017
"What an awesome atmosphere! From day 1, I felt very comfortable and got to know the staff and other patients well. I would recommend this group to all of my friends and family!"
May 22, 2017
"Very impressed with the level of expertise of Dr. Nate and the other staff. I have dealt with knee pain for years and wanted to avoid surgery. I attended only 1 session per week (they even had even hours!) and was back to walking without pain in 5 weeks! Highly recommend before anyone seriously considers surgery!"
May 19, 2017
"In only a few sessions, I was able to meet all of my goals. I was educated on how the body works and what I needed to do to stay healthy!"
May 04, 2017
"Five years ago, I had an injury which left me disabled due to back pain. I could not enjoy life. The staff at PROActive sat down with me, listened, and gave me hope. I can now walk through the neighborhood and play with my grandchildren. What a terrific experience!"
May 04, 2017